4 Steps to Lose Anxiety before a Speach

image

Hey guys,
I know that this is completely off of my topic but I really wanted to talk to You about it, because I’m quite familiar with this topic.
I’m pretty anxious, especially before public speeches. They were just my worst nightmare. When I was a bit smaller, I sometimes was so stressed out that I even fainted. Can You believe this? Because now I can’t.
I really have grown from that and now I’m not afraid. Maybe my heart starts pounding a little bit faster, but that’s nothing compared to what was before.
I’m going to share these steps with You. Before I start I’m going to tell You that nobody told me what to do. I didn’t even think of checking Google. I developed them myself with a little help from the people around me.
Distract Yourself. This is what I do before the speech. You can do whatever You like. For instance You can listen to music, draw or read something if it can distract You. I personally listen to music. Of course not during Your class but before it.
Forget it. This one is kind of similar to the previous one, but it’s a bit different. Lately before a speech I just chat with my friends or something. Just as if I won’t have to talk to a crowd of people the next minute.
Don’t rehearse right before the speech. If You know the text You don’t have a reason to rehearse it. It will just stress You out more. It will maybe make You performe worse. But if You don’t know the text than You’re probably screwed.
Pretend You’re going on a roller-coster. I know this one sounds pretty stupid but it works. All You have to do is pretend that the speech is so exiting like a big roller-coster. This is a thing my English teacher told me. Stress before a speach is similar to exitement before a ride. It’s true, guys! But one is fear and the other one – happiness. Buy the base fealing is the same.
I know it’s quite hard but You have to let go of the fear and just float. I know that at first it’s not going to happen. You won’t get rid of the anxiety overnight but with the practice of letting go You may get there like I did. I just discovered one day that I’m not afraid anymore. It was wierd. And then I thought about what did I do, and that’s how this post was made.
I hope I have helped some people. Even if I helped one person with his anxiety before a speech that would just make my day.
How do You fight with anxiety before a speech?
Wishing You the best,
Pat

Leave a comment